RSS

Daily Archives: September 25, 2015

Another week, another blog entry

Last weekend. Saturday.

Annika M. and I went to the Firiza Lake. We hiked there having a marvellous adventure, as hiking paths in Romania look quite different from the ones we’ve known. Sometimes we would just follow streams or search for markings to find them ten metres away from the actual path. After three hours we arrived at the beautiful lake:

Firiza Lake

Sunday.

Erlebnisbericht

Me taking the cookies out of the oven. Burnt at the bottom. Damn gas oven. I mean I could’ve known better – well I didn’t. Burnt fingers. Do we have oven cloths?The hot cookies stick together creating a huge cookie-sandwich. Great. I’m late. Great. Running down the stairs, taking two at once, then three, then I just jump. My keys fall down. Muddy keys. Perfect. Simply perfect. I get my bike out of the garage finally. And speed up.

30 seconds later

OK, it’s windy, nevermind. But now it’s raining. Heavily. More heavily. Too heavily. Water’s running down my face, my body, the hollow of my knees. My skirt – soaking wet – sticks to my legs. I can barely see, there’s water in my eyes, on my glasses. That would make quite a romantic scene, me standing in the doorway soaking wet. But this isn’t a movie. I arrive. “Am I right? Is that Alexia’s place?”. She comes to get me. We carry my bike to the second floor. I leave foot-shaped puddles on the stairs. Towels, socks, shoes, a shirt, trousers… They put me in their shower. No backtalk!

I’ve had a great time at Alexia’s place, it felt like home a bit. Hope that I can spend more time with her and her family, they are amazing people. (I wish her all the best and good luck for the 5000m race she’ll have on the weekend in Bucarest. She’ll rock it, I’m sure!).

We also have the Chestnut Festival this week, so there’s no more time to “waste” on reporting, time to experience more!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 25, 2015 in Melissa